HAIR STORY cover.jpg
Hair Story
by NoNieqa Ramos, illustrated by Keisha Morris

With rhythmic, rhyming verse, this picture book follows two girls―one non-Black Puerto Rican, one Black―as they discover the stories their hair can tell.

Preciosa has hair that won’t stay straight, won’t be confined. Rudine’s hair resists rollers, flat irons, and rules.

Together, the girls play hair salon! They take inspiration from their moms, their neighbors, their ancestors, and cultural icons. They discover that their hair holds roots of the past and threads of the future.

With rhythmic, rhyming verse and vibrant collage art, author NoNieqa Ramos and illustrator Keisha Morris follow two girls as they discover the stories hair can tell.

Order from...
Praise for Hair Story

“A lovely lesson in loving and having pride in oneself, perfect for fans of Matthew Cherry’s Hair Love and for any shelf seeded with positive messaging.” – Selenia Paz, Harris County P.L., Houston, School Library Journal

Interviews & Press